People in the News

Ed. note: To ensure that your personnel news is considered for publication, write to Ann-Christe Galloway, production editor, C&RL News, at email: agalloway@ala.org.

Blynne Olivieri, head of special collections at the University of West Georgia, has been awarded the Faculty Member of the Year award for the 2018/2019 academic year. Olivieri, an associate professor, has been employed at the University of West Georgia since 2012. She is currently the ACRL/RBMS chair of the Budget & Development Committee, a member of the inaugural ALA Philanthropy Advisory Group, and is an active member of the Association of Centers for the Study of Congress.


Scott Walter has been appointed university librarian and professor, and university copyright officer at Illinois Wesleyan University. Walter previously served as university librarian at DePaul University, and as associate university librarian for services and associate dean of libraries at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. Walter has served as a member of the Board of Directors of the Consortium of Academic and Research Libraries in Illinois, as well as the Catholic Research Resources Alliance and the Library Publishing Coalition. He was a founding member of the Board of Directors of Chicago Collections and has been a leader in the establishment of campus and community partnerships supporting innovation in library services and spaces, and collaboration among academic affairs and student affairs programs. Walter is an active scholar, presenter, and LIS educator, and has served ACRL in a number of positions, including chair of the ACRL Research Coordinating Committee, chair of the Education and Behavioral Sciences Section, and editor-in-chief of College & Research Libraries. In 2012, he was the recipient of the ACRL-EBSS Distinguished Education and Behavioral Sciences Librarian Award.

Brian Mathews has joined the Carnegie Mellon University Libraries as associate dean for innovation, preservation, and access.

Alicia M. Salaz has been appointed associate dean for research and academic services at the Carnegie Mellon University Libraries.

Emma Slayton has been named data curation, visualization, and GIS specialist at the Carnegie Mellon University Libraries.


Susan Swords Steffen, director of the Elmhurst College A. C. Buehler Library since 1997, has retired. Swords Steffen has been an active leader in many national, state, and local library professional organizations, received the Melvin George Award from LIBRAS (the Chicago area consortium of college libraries), taught in the graduate library science program at Dominican University, and in 2014 was named Illinois Academic Librarian of the Year by the Illinois Library Association. In 2010, under her leadership, the A. C. Buehler Library received the ACRL Excellence in Academic Libraries Award.

Copyright American Library Association

Article Views (Last 12 Months)

No data available

Contact ACRL for article usage statistics from 2010-April 2017.

Article Views (By Year/Month)

January: 0
February: 7
March: 1
April: 1
May: 3
June: 2
July: 4
August: 1
January: 8
February: 11
March: 2
April: 3
May: 0
June: 2
July: 6
August: 0
September: 7
October: 4
November: 2
December: 0
January: 5
February: 7
March: 1
April: 4
May: 2
June: 2
July: 4
August: 5
September: 1
October: 3
November: 0
December: 6
January: 0
February: 0
March: 0
April: 0
May: 0
June: 8
July: 271
August: 36
September: 14
October: 8
November: 10
December: 11