ACRL’s 2015 Awards Program: Honoring outstanding achievements in academic librarianship

Chase Ollis

This year marks the 75th Anniversary of ACRL, an achievement made possible by the efforts of our leaders and members serving the higher education community. As ACRL celebrates our milestone of commitment to advancing learning and transforming scholarship, we also continue to celebrate the achievements of outstanding academic and research librarians. The annual presentation of our prestigious awards, grants, and fellowships, made possible by generous corporate support, enables ACRL to honor the very best in academic librarianship.

ACRL members are an integral part of our successful awards program. Please consider acknowledging those who have influenced your thinking, your practice, and your growth as an academic or research librarian. We urge you to nominate colleagues whose work you admire, and whose contributions merit recognition by the profession. Your nominations will ensure that the pool of candidates for each award remains both competitive and distinguished.

(Left to right): 2013–14 ACRL President Trevor A. Dawes; Tim Bucknall, 2014 ACRL Academic/Research Librarian of the Year; Mark Kendall, YBP Library Services.

Complete information about the ACRL awards program, including nomination procedures, past winners, criteria, and contacts, is available in the “Awards & Scholarships” section of the ACRL website at December 5, 2014, is the deadline for most of the awards to be presented in 2015. A brief description of each award is listed below.

Achievement and distinguished service awards

  • Excellence in Academic Libraries Award (sponsored by YBP Library Services): $3,000 for each type-of-library award (college, community college, and university). Recognizes academic libraries that are outstanding in furthering the educational missions of their institutions.
  • Academic/Research Librarian of the Year Award (sponsored by YBP Library Services): $5,000 award. Recognizes an outstanding member of the academic or research library profession.
  • Hugh C. Atkinson Memorial Award (sponsored by ACRL, Association for Library Collections and Technical Services, Library Leadership and Management Association, Library and Information Technology Association: cash award. Recognizes outstanding achievements (including risk-taking) in the areas of library automation, management, or development and research.
  • Law and Political Science Section Marta Lange/SAGE-CQ Press Award (sponsored by SAGE-CQ Press): $1,000 award. Recognizes a librarian who has made distinguished contributions to bibliography and information service in law or political science.
  • Miriam Dudley Instruction Librarian Award (ACRL Instruction Section): $1,000 award. Recognizes an individual librarian for significant contributions to the advancement of instruction in a college or research library environment.
  • Instruction Section Innovation Award (sponsored by ProQuest): $3,000 award for librarians who have implemented innovative approaches to information literacy at their respective institutions or in their communities.
  • College Libraries Section ProQuest Innovation in College Librarianship Award (sponsored by ProQuest): $3,000 award for librarians who demonstrate a capacity for innovation in working with or serving undergraduates or instructors in the areas of programs, services, and operations; or creating innovations for library colleagues that facilitate their ability to better serve the library’s community.
  • Community College Learning Resources Leadership/Library Achievement Awards (sponsored by EBSCO Information Services): $500 for each of two awards recognizing outstanding achievement in library programs or leadership.
  • Routledge Distance Learning Librarianship Conference Sponsorship Award (sponsored by Routledge/Taylor & Francis Group): $1,200 conference sponsorship award to honor any individual ACRL member working in the field of, or contributing to the success of, distance learning librarianship or related library service in higher education.
  • Distinguished Education and Behavioral Sciences Librarian Award (sponsored by John Wiley & Sons): $2,500 award. Honors outstanding contributions to education and behavioral sciences librarianship through accomplishments and service to the profession.
  • Women & Gender Studies Section Award for Career Achievement (sponsor pending): recognizes career achievement in the area of women and gender studies librarianship.
  • Women & Gender Studies Section Award for Significant Achievement (sponsor pending): Honors a distinguished academic librarian who has made outstanding contributions to women and gender studies through accomplishments and service to the profession.

Research awards and grants

  • WESS-SEES De Gruyter European Librarianship Study Grant (sponsored by the Walter de Gruyter Foundation for Scholarship and Research): €2,500 grant supports research in European studies with an emphasis on librarianship, the book trade, resource documentation, and similar information-science related topics.


  • Katharine Kyes Leab and Daniel J. Leab Exhibition Catalogue Awards (sponsored by Katharine Kyes Leab and Daniel J. Leab, American Book Prices Current): Recognizes outstanding catalogues published by American or Canadian institutions in conjunction with library exhibitions. Deadline: October 15, 2014.
  • Ilene F. Rockman Instruction Publication of the Year Award (sponsored by Emerald Group Publishing Limited): $3,000 to recognize an outstanding publication related to instruction in a library environment published in the last two years.
  • Science and Technology Section Oberly Award for Bibliography in the Agricultural or Natural Sciences: This biennial award is given in odd-numbered years for the best English-language bibliography in the field of agriculture or a related science.

If you would like more information about the ACRL 2015 Awards Program, visit the “Awards & Scholarships” section of our website at or contact ACRL Program Coordinator Chase Ollis at E-mail: .

We welcome your nominations and look forward to celebrating achievements in academic librarianship in 2015.

Copyright © 2014 Chase Ollis

Article Views (Last 12 Months)

No data available

Contact ACRL for article usage statistics from 2010-April 2017.

Article Views (By Year/Month)

January: 1
February: 1
March: 1
April: 0
May: 0
January: 0
February: 3
March: 0
April: 2
May: 0
June: 2
July: 1
August: 0
September: 0
October: 3
November: 2
December: 0
January: 3
February: 3
March: 0
April: 2
May: 3
June: 0
July: 5
August: 4
September: 1
October: 1
November: 0
December: 2
January: 5
February: 2
March: 2
April: 1
May: 2
June: 6
July: 6
August: 6
September: 1
October: 6
November: 2
December: 2
January: 3
February: 4
March: 4
April: 4
May: 2
June: 4
July: 0
August: 3
September: 2
October: 1
November: 4
December: 3
April: 0
May: 4
June: 5
July: 3
August: 4
September: 7
October: 2
November: 8
December: 3