People in the News

Ann-Christe Galloway

* Ed. note: To ensure that your personnel news is considered for publication, write to Ann-Christe Galloway, production editor, C&RL News, 50 E. Huron St., Chicago, IL 60611-2795; e-mail: E-mail: ; fax: (312) 280-2520.

Beth Bidlack, director of Burke Library at Union Theological Seminary, has been elected president of the American Theological Library Association (ATLA) by the ATLA Board of Directors. Bidlack served on the Board of Directors for first term (2011–14) and as vice president (2012–13). She also served as the chair of the Bylaws Committee (2011–13), previously served on the ATLA Publications Committee, and chaired the Collections Assessment and Evaluation Interest Group. She has been a member of ATLA for 17 years. Bidlack joined the Columbia University Libraries in February 2013 as the director of the Burke Library. Prior to her appointment at Columbia, she was the collection assessment and analysis librarian at Dartmouth College Library. From 2005 to 2011, Bidlack was bibliographer for religion and philosophy at the University of Chicago Library.


Michael Giordano has been appointed chief operating officer at LYRASIS.

Scott P. Muir is now associate provost for library information services at Rowan University.

Suzanne Thorin has been named the first Academic Preservation Trust (APTrust) program director. Formerly the dean of libraries and university librarian at Syracuse University, Thorin brings a passion for scalable, sustainable preservation and a deep background in the business operations of research libraries. She is also a member of APTrust’s advisory board. In addition to Syracuse, Thorin was university dean of libraries at Indiana University, held numerous positions at the Library of Congress, and has taught at Syracuse University’s Information School and in the Simmons College doctoral program. She has been a researcher, writer, lecturer, and consultant for library transformation and was appointed by President Obama to the National Board of the Institute for Museum and Library Services in 2012.

Justin Bonfiglio is the new copyright specialist/librarian in the Copyright Office at the University of Michigan Library.

Leslin Charles has been appointed instructional design librarian at Rutgers University Libraries in New Jersey.

Kate Conerton is now distance learning librarian at the University of Wyoming Libraries.

Adriana P. Cuervo has been appointed associate director of the Institute of Jazz Studies in the Rutgers University Libraries in New Jersey.

Mary (Franny) Gaede has been hired as scholarly communication librarian at Butler University Libraries.

Lisa Gregory has been named digital projects librarian for the North Carolina Digital Heritage Center at the University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill’s University Library.

Manuel Jusino has been appointed School of Communication and Information/Rutgers University Libraries intern/resident (2013–16).

Krystal Lewis is now information commons and student engagement librarian at DePaul University.

Alisha Linam has been appointed reference and instruction librarian at Graceland University’s F. M. Smith Library.

Laura B. Palumbo has been appointed chemistry and physics librarian in the Rutgers University Libraries in New Jersey.

Jonathan Sauceda has been appointed music and performing arts librarian in the Rutgers University Libraries in New Jersey.

Amanda Starkel has been named information commons and eLearning librarian at Butler University Libraries.

Jennifer A. Townes is now unit head for Information and Research Services at Atlanta University Center’s Robert W. Woodruff Library.

Aisha Wahab has been appointed conservation librarian and paper conservator in the University of Michigan Library’s Preservation and Conservation department.

Susan Wainscott has been appointed science technology engineering and mathematics librarian at University of Nevada-Las Vegas’ University Libraries.


Patricia Patterson has announced her retirement from Nimitz Library at the United States Naval Academy effective January 11, 2014. Patterson joined Nimitz Library as a part-time reference librarian in 1984 and held the position of head of reference from 1992 to 2007. She served as associate director from 2007 until her retirement. She additionally served as interim library director from 2010 to 2011. Prior to her service at Nimitz Library, Patterson was in federal service as a librarian at the National Library of Medicine in various capacities (1978–82). She received the Department of the Navy Meritorious Civilian Service Award in 2008.


Ann Wolpert, 70, MIT’s director of libraries since 1996, has died after a brief illness. Wolpert was a pioneer in digital stewardship. Under her leadership, the MIT Libraries developed DSpace, a milestone in digital libraries that catalyzed the institutional repository movement. Wolpert became a leading voice in the discussion of how the decades-old system of peer-reviewed scholarly journals ought to operate in the digital world; she argued for unrestricted online access to journal articles. As director of libraries, Wolpert managed the MIT Libraries and the MIT Press. In 2000, Wolpert helped lead the MIT Libraries’ collaboration with Hewlett-Packard to build DSpace, an open-source digital archive for faculty output that has been adopted by more than 1,000 institutions worldwide. In 2009, Wolpert was instrumental in the conception and passage of the MIT Faculty Open Access Policy, whereby faculty authors give MIT nonexclusive permission to disseminate their journal articles for open access through DSpace@MIT. It was the first institution-wide policy of its kind in the United States. Wolpert was recently appointed to the inaugural board of the Digital Preservation Network, created to ensure that the scholarly record is preserved for future generations by using a shared, national preservation ecosystem composed of several federated, replicating nodes containing redundant copies of all deposits to protect against catastrophic loss. Prior to joining MIT, Wolpert was executive director of library and information services at the Harvard Business School. In 2005 Wolpert served as president of the Association of Research Libraries and was most recently a member of its Influencing Public Policies Steering Committee. She also served as a publications advisor to the Massachusetts Medical Society.

Ann Wolpert
Copyright 2013© American Library Association

Article Views (Last 12 Months)

No data available

Contact ACRL for article usage statistics from 2010-April 2017.

Article Views (By Year/Month)

January: 1
February: 5
March: 5
April: 6
May: 6
June: 2
January: 6
February: 6
March: 4
April: 5
May: 5
June: 3
July: 2
August: 2
September: 2
October: 4
November: 1
December: 9
January: 4
February: 3
March: 8
April: 3
May: 8
June: 13
July: 10
August: 8
September: 8
October: 5
November: 12
December: 7
January: 3
February: 16
March: 25
April: 63
May: 80
June: 75
July: 7
August: 3
September: 2
October: 3
November: 13
December: 2
April: 0
May: 2
June: 5
July: 3
August: 2
September: 4
October: 6
November: 4
December: 3