People in the News

Ann-Christe Galloway

* Ed. note: To ensure that your personnel news is considered for publication, write to Ann-Christe Galloway, production editor, C&RL News, 50 E. Huron St., Chicago, IL 60611-2795; e-mail: E-mail: ; fax: (312) 280-2520.


Tomas A. Lipinski has been named the new director of the School of Library and Information Science (SLIS) at Kent State University. Lipinski will join the department in January 2013 to replace Richard Rubin, who left in 2010 to become Kent State’s associate provost for extended education. Lipinski currently serves as executive associate dean and professor at Indiana University School of Library and Information Science, Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis. He had previously been director of the Master of Library and Information Science degree program and professor at the School of Information Studies, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee, where he also was codirector (and founder) of the Center for Information Policy Research (CIPR). Issues related to copyright, information law, and intellectual property form the core of Lipinski’s research interests, including ethics; digital archiving; Internet-based research data; freedom of inquiry; laws and policies affecting libraries, schools and other information settings including privacy and free speech; indigenous cultural rights; anonymous speech on the internet; ownership of information; distance education; and the Technology, Education and Copyright Harmonization (TEACH) Act of 2001. Lipinski is author or coauthor of three books, 29 refereed articles, 17 book chapters, and more than 100 other publications, book reviews, and presentations. A leader in copyright education, Lipinski is a member of the ALA Office of Information Technology Policy, Copyright Education Subcommittee, member at large, and is vice-chair/chair elect (2013–14). He also serves as chair of the ACRL Copyright Discussion Group (2012–13) and as a member of the Association for Library and Information Science Education (ALISE) Board, Task Force on The Future of JELIS (and its possible release online).

Joshua Boyer is now head of the user experience department at North Carolina State University Libraries.

Brianne Hagen is now metadata librarian at Hope College in Holland, Michigan.

Patrick Morgan has been named research and instruction librarian at Hope College in Holland, Michigan.

Jennifer O’Neal has been appointed to the position of The Richard and Mary Corrigan Solari University Historian and Archivist at the University of Oregon Libraries.


Craig Wilson has retired as assistant director for library collections at the University of Delaware Library, after 20 years of service. His responsibilities included the administration of the collections and staff related to the collection development department and the special collections department.


John Minto Dawson, 93, former director of libraries at the University of Delaware from 1958 until his retirement in 1979, has died. Dawson’s many accomplishments at the University of Delaware included leading the planning, design, and construction of the original Hugh M. Morris Library, which was completed in 1964 with increased space, collections, and services. He administered growth in the library collection with a major emphasis in transforming an undergraduate collection into becoming a research collection. Prior to his appointment at the University of Delaware, Dawson worked in the libraries of Tulane University, the University of Alabama, and joined the University of Delaware from his position as assistant librarian at the University of Chicago. Dawson was active in ALA, serving many years on the ALA Council and the ALA Executive Board.

Margaret Enid Knox Goggin, 93, has died after a lengthy illness. Goggin achieved success in her profession, even after she was told that women could not handle the stressful jobs that proved difficult for men. After working in libraries in Tennessee, Ohio, in Washington, D.C., at the U.S. Department of Commerce, and at the University of Illinois, Goggin became an assistant professor of library science at the University of Florida in 1949. She served the University of Florida in a variety of capacities from 1949 to 1968, including associate professor of library science, assistant director, and later acting director of libraries. In 1968, the University of Denver hired Goggin as full professor and dean of the Graduate School of Librarianship, a post she held until 1979. In 1980 she was the inspiration behind and cofounder of what is today the Colorado Antiquarian Book Seminar. She remained on the University of Denver faculty as professor until 1984, attaining emeritus status in that year. In retirement, she served as interim director of collection management at Emory University from 1986 to 1988. She also worked as co-owner of Book Seminars, Inc. from 1986 to 1995 and as owner of Margaret K. Goggin Books beginning in 1994. Goggin received many professional awards and distinctions, including the Colorado Librarian of the Year Award in 1979 and the Distinguished Alumnus Award from Peabody College in 1987. She served in leadership positions in a number of library organizations, including ALA (division president), Association for Library and Information Science Education (national president), Colorado Library Association (director), and the Mountain Plains Library Association (director). She also received Fulbright (1972), Rockefeller Foundation (1958, 1961–62), and Organization of American States (1978–79) grants.

Vanrea Thomas, acting chief librarian and chair of the Department of Library and Media Services at Medgar Evers College, has died. A native of The Bahamas, Thomas’ tenure at Medgar Evers College began in 1993 as associate librarian for the college’s Charles Evans Inniss Memorial Library. She played a vital role in spearheading the integration of innovative technologies into all library systems and in expanding the digital/electronic databases of the college library. Her capable leadership in the advancement of the library’s services and resources led to her appointment as the acting chief librarian and chair of the Department of Library and Media Services. She was also active on committees such as the Library Technology Committee, which she chaired; the Library Resource Committee; the College-Wide Personnel and Budget Committee; the Committee on Recruitment, Admission and Retention; the Core Curriculum Committee; the Academic Standards and Regulation Committee; the Customer Service Committee; and the Library Expansion Committee. Prior to her appointment at Medgar Evers College, Thomas served as director of library services and lecturer at the College of the Bahamas in Nassau. She served as head of Library Education at the University of the West Indies.

Copyright 2012© American Library Association

Article Views (Last 12 Months)

No data available

Contact ACRL for article usage statistics from 2010-April 2017.

Article Views (By Year/Month)

January: 3
February: 4
March: 6
April: 2
April: 0
May: 25
June: 7
July: 3
August: 2
September: 3
October: 2
November: 5
December: 3