ACRL’s 2013 Awards Program: Honoring outstanding achievements in academic librarianship

Casey Kinson

For more than three quarters of a century, ACRL has been committed to celebrating the achievements of deserving academic and research librarians through the presentation of awards, grants, and fellowships. Every year ACRL extends recognition and honor to the winners of its awards. Thanks to generous corporate sponsorship that provides almost $35,000, ACRL has and will continue to nominate, select, and honor the very best in academic librarianship.

ACRL members are an integral part of our successful awards program. Please consider acknowledging those who have influenced your thinking, your practice, and your growth as an academic or research librarian. We urge you to nominate colleagues whose work you admire, and whose contributions merit recognition by the profession. Your nominations will ensure that the pool of candidates for each award remains both competitive and distinguished.

Paula T. Kaufman, 2012 Academic/Research Librarian of the Year, with 2011–12 ACRL President Joyce L. Ogburn and Mark Kendall, senior vice president of sales for YBP Library Services.

Complete information about the ACRL awards program, including nomination procedures, past winners, criteria, and contacts, is available in the “Awards & Scholarships” section of the ACRL Web site at December 7, 2012, is the deadline for most of the awards to be presented in 2013. A brief description of each award is listed below.

Achievement and distinguished service awards

  • Excellence in Academic Libraries Award (sponsored by YBP Library Services): $3,000 for each type of library award (college, community college, and university). Recognizes academic libraries that are outstanding in furthering the educational missions of their institutions.
  • Academic/Research Librarian of the Year Award (sponsored by YBP Library Services): $5,000 award. Recognizes an outstanding member of the academic or research library profession.
  • Hugh C. Atkinson Memorial Award (sponsored by ACRL, Association for Library Collections and Technical Services [ALCTS], Library Leadership and Management Association [LLAMA], Library and Information Technology Association [LITA]): cash award. Recognizes outstanding achievements (including risk-taking) in the areas of library automation, management, or development and research.
  • Law and Political Science Section Marta Lange/CQ Press Award (sponsored by CQ Press): $1,000 award. Recognizes a librarian who has made distinguished contributions to bibliography and information service in law or political science.
  • Miriam Dudley Instruction Librarian Award: Award TBD. Recognizes an individual librarian for significant contributions to the advancement of instruction in a college or research library environment.
  • Instruction Section Innovation Award (sponsored by ProQuest): $3,000 award for librarians who have implemented innovative approaches to information literacy at their respective institutions or in their communities.
  • College Libraries Section ProQuest Innovation in College Librarianship Award (sponsored by ProQuest): $3,000 award for librarians who demonstrate a capacity for innovation in working with or serving undergraduates or instructors in the areas of programs, services, and operations; or creating innovations for library colleagues that facilitate their ability to better serve the library’s community.
  • Community College Learning Resources Leadership/Library Achievement Awards (sponsored by EBSCO Information Services): $500 for each of two awards recognizing outstanding achievement in library programs or leadership.
  • Routledge Distance Learning Librarianship Conference Sponsorship Award (sponsored by Routledge/Taylor & Francis Group): $1,200 conference sponsorship award to honor any individual ACRL member working in the field of, or contributing to the success of, distance learning librarianship or related library service in higher education.
  • Distinguished Education and Behavioral Sciences Librarian Award (sponsored by John Wiley & Sons): Award TBD. Honors outstanding contributions to education and behavioral sciences librarianship through accomplishments and service to the profession.
  • Innovation in Science and Technology Librarianship Award (sponsored by IEEE): Awards $3,000 in recognition of creative, innovative approaches to solving problems, or improving products and services in science and technology librarianship.
  • Women and Gender Studies Section Award for Career Achievement: Recognizes career achievement in the area of women’s studies and gender studies librarianship.
  • Women and Gender Studies Section Award for Significant Achievement: Honors a distinguished academic librarian who has made outstanding contributions to women and gender studies through accomplishments and service to the profession.

Research awards and grants

  • WESS De Gruyter European Librarianship Study Grant (sponsored by the Walter de Gruyter Foundation for Scholarship and Research): EUR 2,500 grant supports research in European studies with an emphasis on librarianship, the book trade, resource documentation and similar information-science related topics.


  • Katharine Kyes Leab and Daniel J. Leab Exhibition Catalogue Awards (sponsored by Katharine Kyes Leab and Daniel J. Leab, American Book Prices Current): Recognizes outstanding catalogues published by American or Canadian institutions in conjunction with library exhibitions. Deadline: October 15, 2012.
  • Ilene F. Rockman Instruction Publication of the Year Award (sponsored by Emerald Group Publishing Limited): $3,000 to recognize an outstanding publication related to instruction in a library environment published in the last two years.
  • Science and Technology Section Oberly Award for Bibliography in the Agricultural or Natural Sciences: This biennial award is given in odd-numbered years for the best English-language bibliography in the field of agriculture or a related science.

If you would like more information about the ACRL 2013 Awards Program, visit the “Awards & Scholarships” section of our Web site at or contact ACRL Program Coordinator Casey Kinson at E-mail: .

We welcome your nominations and look forward to celebrating achievements in academic librarianship in 2013.

Copyright © 2012 Casey Kinson

Article Views (Last 12 Months)

No data available

Contact ACRL for article usage statistics from 2010-April 2017.

Article Views (By Year/Month)

January: 4
February: 6
March: 3
April: 2
May: 3
June: 6
July: 2
April: 0
May: 2
June: 2
July: 4
August: 3
September: 4
October: 1
November: 4
December: 2