The Subject Specialist Section and its Agriculture and Biological Sciences Subsection are cosponsoring a program meeting on Wednesday, June 25, at 4:00 p.m. during the Atlantic City Annual Conference. The speaker is John Sherrod, Director of the National Agricultural Library, who will give the fourth presentation in a series on science information networks with a paper on “The National Agricultural Library Network: A Progress Report.” The series began in 1966 with Foster Mohrhardt’s discussion of concepts for a network of biological-agricultural libraries. The next year Dr. Martin Cummings of the National Library of Medicine described the development of the national medical library network, and last year Joe Becker of EDUCOM spoke on the specific planning and initial implementation of the agricultural-biological information network.

Mr. Sherrod’s paper, though focused on agricultural libraries, can be expected to reflect his broad experience, first as chief of the Science and Technology Division of the Library of Congress, 1957-63, then as the head of the Information Services and Systems Branch of the Atomic Energy Commission’s Division of Technical Information and later as the Division’s Assistant Director for Systems Development until appointment in February 1968 to his present post. Among his many special assignments are membership on COSATI, the Federal Library Committee, the National Research Council’s Committee on Chemical Information, and the Chemical Abstracts Advisory Board.

The Eunice Rockwell Oberly Memorial Award will also be presented at this meeting for the most notable bibliography published in the field of agriculture or the related sciences in the period 1967-1968. The award was established in 1923 by the friends and colleagues of Miss Oberly, Librarian of the U.S. Bureau of Plant Industry from 1908 until her death in 1921. It is given biennially in odd numbered years. Prior to this year the recipient was chosen by a committee of the Reference Services Division, but in 1968 RSD requested transfer of responsibility to the ABSS because of the subject orientation of the award. Fleming Bennett, Hume Library, University of Florida, is serving as the first ABSS Chairman of the Oberly Memorial Award Committee. Other members of the committee are Margaret Bryant, Wayne Collings, Sam Hitt and Cindy Woodruff.

The list of distinguished winning bibliographies begins in 1925 with Max Meisel’s classic three volume Bibliography of American Natural History, 1769-1865 and includes Bibliography of Land Settlement by Louise O. Bercaw (1935 award), Bibliography of Eastern Asiatic Botany by Elmer D. Merrill and Egebert Walker (1941 award), Richard Blanchard and Harald Ostvald’s Literature of Agricultural Research (1948 award), volume two of the Hunt Botanical Library Catalog covering printed books 1701-1800 compiled by Allan Stevenson (1963 award), Ida Kaplan hangman’s A Selected Guide to the Literature on the Flowering Plants of Mexico (1965 award) and, finally, the 1967 award, George Neville Jones’ An Annotated Bibliography of Mexican Ferns.

We hope to meet all of our members who are in Atlantic City on June 25 at this joint meeting and count particularly on ABSS members to be on hand to honor the winner of the Oberly Memorial Award. We promise you a stimulating paper, lively discussion and a very brief business session.

Thomas D. Gillies, Chairman,SSS Louise Darling, Chairman, ABSS

Copyright © American Library Association

Article Views (Last 12 Months)

No data available

Contact ACRL for article usage statistics from 2010-April 2017.

Article Views (By Year/Month)

January: 0
February: 0
March: 0
April: 0
May: 2
June: 0
January: 0
February: 4
March: 2
April: 3
May: 0
June: 3
July: 1
August: 0
September: 1
October: 4
November: 1
December: 0
January: 3
February: 1
March: 6
April: 0
May: 4
June: 2
July: 4
August: 3
September: 1
October: 1
November: 0
December: 6
January: 0
February: 0
March: 0
April: 0
May: 0
June: 0
July: 0
August: 8
September: 2
October: 3
November: 0
December: 1