Individuals, companies, and professional organizations are encouraged to contribute to the general scholarship fund of the American Library Association’s Scholarship Program. The number and frequency of the awards, known as the ALA Scholarships, will be determined by the total amount of funds contributed by donors. Each scholarship will be $2,500, and as many as possible will be awarded annually.

The program, approved by the ALA Council at the 1969 Midwinter meeting in Washington, D.C., is designed to help worthy students to begin and/or further their library education at the graduate level. Scholarships will be awarded without regard to race, creed, color or national origin. The recipient must enter a formal program of graduate study leading to a degree or advanced certificate at an ALA accredited school.

A jury appointed by the chairman of the ALA Awards Committee in consultation with the incoming president of the Library Education Division will administer the scholarships. The jury will be composed of five members, three of whom are members of LED and two of whom are members of the ALA Awards Committee. The staff liaison to the jury will be LED executive secretary. When funds permit, the recipients of the scholarships will be announced at the inaugural banquet during the ALA annual conferences.

Contributions to the general scholarship fund should be made payable to the American Library Association, 50 East Huron Street, Chicago, Illinois 60611, and sent to the attention of Mr. David H. Clift, Executive Director.

Copyright © American Library Association

Article Views (Last 12 Months)

No data available

Contact ACRL for article usage statistics from 2010-April 2017.

Article Views (By Year/Month)

January: 2
February: 2
March: 2
April: 5
May: 3
June: 2
January: 1
February: 2
March: 4
April: 0
May: 2
June: 0
July: 4
August: 2
September: 1
October: 1
November: 0
December: 5
January: 0
February: 0
March: 0
April: 0
May: 0
June: 0
July: 0
August: 10
September: 2
October: 3
November: 0
December: 1