Vol 70, No 9 (2009)

October


Cover Page
This month’s cover image is from a painted scroll attributed to Tu-ling Nei-shi, a prominent landscape painter of the Ming dynasty. It is part of the Chu-Griffis Collection of Asian Art at Connecticut College, which contains nearly 250 prints and paintings. The collection was begun in 1985 as a learning resource for students and a cultural resource for the region. It closely follows the interests of its first curator, Charles Chu (1918–2008), with heavy emphasis on 20th-century Chinese landscape painting and calligraphy.

The collection is housed in the Linda Lear Center for Special Collections and Archives in the Charles E. Shain Library. The Charles Chu Asian Art Reading Room, a special reference and exhibition area, was constructed in 2001 to showcase the artwork. Learn more at www.conncoll.edu/is /info-resources/special-collections/chu/index.html.